Deploying Zimlets

Interested in talking about Mash-up's? This is the place.
1339darwinian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:05 pm

Deploying Zimlets

Postby 1339darwinian » Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:33 am

I have a problem deploying zimlets in Zimbra Beta 2. I tried deploying using zimlet deploy but the zimlet functionality doesn't show up when I log back in on Zimbra. I then tried to disable the Zimlet called com_zimbra_phone and also removed it from the default COS. Logging back in, the phone zimlet was not disabled either; even though the zimlet listZimlets command showed that my zimlets were deployed and com_zimbra_phone was both disabled and not in the default COS. I also tried restarting the server, but to no effect.

I searched the forums for a similar problem but came up empty.

Does anyone know what might be wrong?

Thanks


phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26243
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Deploying Zimlets

Postby phoenix » Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:40 pm

I can't help with your specific problem but you do realise that the GA version of Zimbra is available. Have you tried running your zimlets against that version?
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

If you'd like to see this implemented in a future version of ZCS then please vote on Bugzilla entries 97706 & 108168
1339darwinian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:05 pm

Deploying Zimlets

Postby 1339darwinian » Mon Feb 20, 2006 2:51 pm

I just installed the 3.0 release. It still seems to have the same problem. Using listZimlets I've disabled the phone zimlet... but it's still active. And my custom zimlets dont' seem to be.
marcmac
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 2091
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:53 pm

Deploying Zimlets

Postby marcmac » Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:29 pm

Is your zimlet a phone zimlet? (Meaning, does it grab the same regular expression?)
The "com_zimbra_phone" zimlet was one of the first mashups we did, and predates the zimlet framework - so removing it isn't really clean, and getting something else to take over that regexp doesn't really work. We're working on getting this fixed in ongoing releases.
One way to make sure your zimlet deploys is to include a panel item with it - that way you get immediate visual confirmation that it's loaded, and a way to directly access all of the functions (make them menu options).
14319KevinH
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:52 pm

Deploying Zimlets

Postby 14319KevinH » Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:46 pm

Also the zimlet tool had a few issues in Beta 2. Upgrade to GA if you can.
1339darwinian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:05 pm

Deploying Zimlets

Postby 1339darwinian » Wed Feb 22, 2006 9:17 am

Thanks for your help. I managed to include new zimlets on the side panel, and had not much difficulty removing existing ones from the panel either.

I still have not been able to remove the phone zimlet... it could very well be what you mentioned, that it's simply difficult to remove.

Updating and restarting the server seems to have done the trick. Thanks again.
14319KevinH
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:52 pm

Deploying Zimlets

Postby 14319KevinH » Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:35 am

Yes at the moment phone, url, tracking, email, and date/calendar are not full zimlets so can't be removed. We will have this fixed for a future release.
concept
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:03 pm

Deploying Zimlets

Postby concept » Wed Mar 01, 2006 9:19 am

Hello. We need to disable the phone zimlet as well. We already have a click to dial setup that works with the browser to dial the number by passing a command to the PBX and making the user's phone start dialing out. It doesn't work with zimbra because all the numbers have already been converted to callto: tags using a slightly different format. There may be another way to get that working, but turning it off would be the easiest for me. Thank you.
14319KevinH
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:52 pm

Deploying Zimlets

Postby 14319KevinH » Wed Mar 01, 2006 11:20 am

At this time the phone zimlet is hard coded. So it can't be removed completely. In a future release we'll have it converted to a full-fledged zimlet that can be undeployed.

Return to “Zimlets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest