BES express w/ ZCB 6

Are you using the Zimbra Connector for BlackBerry? Post your comments and questions here.
17331Slim
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 1:39 am

BES express w/ ZCB 6

Postby 17331Slim » Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:04 am

Hello guys,

reading all the threads and just wanted to check, has anyone successfully connected BESX to ZCS with ZCB?

I know theoritically it works but has anyone successfully done it?


cadinor
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 1:21 am

BES express w/ ZCB 6

Postby cadinor » Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:10 am

Yes.... this works fine
sin_x
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:47 am

BES express w/ ZCB 6

Postby sin_x » Mon Jan 10, 2011 7:09 am

Yep. Working here.
buttadee
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:56 pm

BES express w/ ZCB 6

Postby buttadee » Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:39 am

I just started looking into this today and basically had the same question. I currently have BlackBerry Professional Server (which is basically BES-smaller/cheaper) and somehow just learned about BES Express. It sounds too good to be true--free SRP and CALs up to a number way larger than what we'll ever need. Can you still get support contracts from RIM (or 3rd party)? (I will check their page, too, of course, but the Zimbra forums are always far easier to get information from!)



My additional question to "does it work?" is "does it work to migrate users from BES/BPS directly to the BES-express, or do you just have to enterprise activate users on the new server and start fresh?"



Also, it appears from the BlackBerry Business Software Comparison chart that one does not necessarily need the BlackBerry Enterprise data plan anymore if you use BES Express. Perhaps the cost is not that different between a personal data plan and Enterprise data plan, but this would be good to know since part of enterprise activation troubleshooting always involved asking the service provider (T-Mobile in this case) to change someone from BIS to BES service, then having to call back and talk to someone competent to say "no, really, I mean it, you have to make that change for me or this activation is never going to work." Any experience with this out there?
jayel
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:15 pm

BES express w/ ZCB 6

Postby jayel » Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:24 am

Working here !
John
17331Slim
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 1:39 am

BES express w/ ZCB 6

Postby 17331Slim » Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:08 am

BES express is great, have it now running.

To answer your question, the only plan you know need is to have 3g on your phone. No more BIS/BES licenses.

Migration from BPS is apparently not possible.

Have it on Win08 server and ZCS6; works like a charm.
Angrysmiley
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 1:00 am

BES express w/ ZCB 6

Postby Angrysmiley » Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:56 am

[quote user="buttadee"]I just started looking into this today and basically had the same question. I currently have BlackBerry Professional Server (which is basically BES-smaller/cheaper) and somehow just learned about BES Express. It sounds too good to be true--free SRP and CALs up to a number way larger than what we'll ever need. Can you still get support contracts from RIM (or 3rd party)? (I will check their page, too, of course, but the Zimbra forums are always far easier to get information from!)



My additional question to "does it work?" is "does it work to migrate users from BES/BPS directly to the BES-express, or do you just have to enterprise activate users on the new server and start fresh?"



Also, it appears from the BlackBerry Business Software Comparison chart that one does not necessarily need the BlackBerry Enterprise data plan anymore if you use BES Express. Perhaps the cost is not that different between a personal data plan and Enterprise data plan, but this would be good to know since part of enterprise activation troubleshooting always involved asking the service provider (T-Mobile in this case) to change someone from BIS to BES service, then having to call back and talk to someone competent to say "no, really, I mean it, you have to make that change for me or this activation is never going to work." Any experience with this out there?[/QUOTE]
I have tested it with an BIS enabled phone, activation using the USB cable works fine, email, calendar works fine as well, however the address book is not syncinging, but throws an error both on the phone and in the ZCO / BESx logs... I have raised this with Zimbra as its the last obstacle to get it working properly with a BIS enabled phone.
Angrysmiley
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 1:00 am

BES express w/ ZCB 6

Postby Angrysmiley » Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:00 am

[quote user="17331Slim"]BES express is great, have it now running.

To answer your question, the only plan you know need is to have 3g on your phone. No more BIS/BES licenses.

[/QUOTE]
Could you please elaborate a bit more on how you got it working, because as far I understand you need either a phone with a BES or BIS plan in order for BESx to work, RIM's own documentation mentions this a few times as well.
makichan
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 1:50 am

BES express w/ ZCB 6

Postby makichan » Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:46 pm

hello guys,

i has create new user at zimbra mail server, but the new user at zimbra mail server can't created at BAS. but old user at zimbra mail server can add at BAS. but after i waiting 1 day new user was i created at zimbra mail server now can add at BAS server.

any body have problem same with me??

any advice from zimbra master???
win server 2003

MSoutlook 2007 sp2

zbc 6.5

BES EXpress 5.0.1

zimbra mailserver 6.0.9
thank

Return to “Zimbra Connector for Blackberry”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests