Sync Zimbra <=> Blackberry without BES - possible?

Are you using the Zimbra Connector for BlackBerry? Post your comments and questions here.
Alphaphi
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 1:27 am

Sync Zimbra <=> Blackberry without BES - possible?

Postby Alphaphi » Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:55 am

Hello everyone,
Being new to the zimbra mobile world, I wonder if it is possible to synchronize the BlackBerry directly against a ZCS, as I can do with an iPhone.
As I understand this document
Mobile collaboration tools for enterprise messaging for mobile devices
one needs a BlackBerry Enterprise Server in order to sync the mobile device with the zimbra.

We don't have a BES running, and so we cannot sync our Blackberrys - is this right? Or do I misunderstand something?
Thanks for clarifying hints!

Andre


folioguru
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:34 pm

Sync Zimbra <=> Blackberry without BES - possible?

Postby folioguru » Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:15 pm

Take a look at AstraSync it supports Zimbra on Blackberry. We have used it on several of our devices.
dljordaneku
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:44 pm

Sync Zimbra <=> Blackberry without BES - possible?

Postby dljordaneku » Wed Jan 19, 2011 8:15 pm

Notifysync is another option.
dj
fastcars4
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:24 am

Sync Zimbra <=> Blackberry without BES - possible?

Postby fastcars4 » Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:07 pm

Setup the AstraSync and seem to work great. Much easier then setting up a BES for one blackberry.
tbovingdon
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:19 pm

Sync Zimbra <=> Blackberry without BES - possible?

Postby tbovingdon » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:10 pm

We found astrasync and notifysync both severely affect the performance of the blackberry... not sure what was worse.. the pain of setting up a free express bes server for 1 user or the pain of listening the complain about speed issues. :S
folioguru
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:34 pm

Sync Zimbra <=> Blackberry without BES - possible?

Postby folioguru » Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:52 pm

I would agree with the speed assessment. One thing we have done is let mail go via IMAP to BB and use Astrasync for calendar and contacts.
amwaldron
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 1:04 am

Sync Zimbra <=> Blackberry without BES - possible?

Postby amwaldron » Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:09 am

From reading this string, I get the impression that it is possible to use the free BESx to interface with Zimbra rather than purchasing the expensive BES (we only have 2 Blackberry users). Is that correct?
tbovingdon
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:19 pm

Sync Zimbra <=> Blackberry without BES - possible?

Postby tbovingdon » Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:21 am

yes that is correct new bes express is easier to setup but keep in mind there are only a handful of it policies. (unlike full blown bes)
dik23
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 1:44 am

Sync Zimbra <=> Blackberry without BES - possible?

Postby dik23 » Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:08 pm

But you still have to have to pay for a Microsoft licence to run the "free" BES express since RIM are too short sighted to make it available on any other platform.
And Bberry seem to be the only mobiles on the market that don't support ActiveSync out on the box.
Personally I'm advising dump Bberry altogether and move to the modern world. The way things are going for RIM there won't be much alternative soon.
lytledd
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 494
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:54 am
ZCS/ZD Version: Ubuntu Release 8.8.11.GA.P4 FOSS

Sync Zimbra <=> Blackberry without BES - possible?

Postby lytledd » Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:04 am

I believe that Funambol support BlackBerry, but I have never tried to set one up.
Doug

Return to “Zimbra Connector for Blackberry”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest