Use of tabs in Zimbra Desktop 2

General discussion about Zimbra Desktop.
13537storm
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:10 pm

Use of tabs in Zimbra Desktop 2

Postby 13537storm » Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:25 am

With the release of Zimbra Desktop 2, I was looking forwards to hopefully using tabs in email (compose, list view etc..) and zimlets - as are currently found in Zimbra Collaboration Suite 6+.
However, these features haven't appeared.
I have searched bugzilla and the forum to find out more, but (probably due to the ubiquity of the term 'tab' 'tabs' and 'email') I cannot shed any light on this.
Can anyone elucidate further?
Thanks


soxfan
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:08 pm

Use of tabs in Zimbra Desktop 2

Postby soxfan » Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:15 am

At least with the default theme (Twilight) composing a new message opens a new tab. I've only done a little testing with 6.0 so I'm not sure where else tabs appear.
As far as zimlets, there is a tab for them under preferences, but it looks like it only has the basic zimlets. Haven't done any searching around yet, but it seems like it may still require the manual zimlet install described in the Wiki.
jjzhuang
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 1687
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:24 pm

Use of tabs in Zimbra Desktop 2

Postby jjzhuang » Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:41 pm

Currently only mail composer uses tabs. It's not limited to certain skins.
sposetti
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:51 am

Use of tabs in Zimbra Desktop 2

Postby sposetti » Fri Feb 12, 2010 8:21 pm

You can now use tabs in zimlets. I've deployed this example zimlet into ZD2 Beta (on MacOS) that makes a simple tab:
ZCS 6.0:Zimlet Developers Guide:Examples:Simple Tab - Zimbra :: Wiki
More info on using ZD2Beta for Zimlet dev is available here:
ZCS 6.0:Zimlet Developers Guide:Dev Environment Setup - Zimbra :: Wiki
13537storm
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:10 pm

Use of tabs in Zimbra Desktop 2

Postby 13537storm » Fri Feb 12, 2010 9:02 pm

Thanks, yes, I've got compose tab working now, and the socialise tab is now working (although of course it can't actually function without proxy web access...).
sposetti
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:51 am

Use of tabs in Zimbra Desktop 2

Postby sposetti » Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:30 pm

I got the Zimlet Proxy to open on ZD using the "openalldomains" zimlet found here:
ZCS 6.0:Zimlet Developers Guide:Examples:Open All Domains - Zimbra :: Wiki
And to deploy, just drop the ZIP in the "zimlets" directory, stop & restart ZD2.
Use the proxy test link (see instructions to figure out your port) to check proxy access...if it loads Yahoo!, your proxy is open:

Instructions">http://127.0.0.1:49503/service/proxy?target=http://www.yahoo.com
Instructions
on testing the proxy link:
ZCS 6.0:Zimlet Developers Guide:Proxy Servlet Setup - Zimbra :: Wiki
Instructions on using ZD2 in a browser, not Prism and how to deploy zimlets on ZD2:
ZCS 6.0:Zimlet Developers Guide:Dev Environment Setup - Zimbra :: Wiki
13537storm
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:10 pm

Use of tabs in Zimbra Desktop 2

Postby 13537storm » Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:34 am

Cheers, I knew the information was around, but that's an exceedingly helpful summary! :)

Return to “General Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests