Mac "Couldn't access Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop server" Error

If Zimbra Desktop had a sync failure, it may have told you to post your error in this section.
rgbyhkr
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:07 am

Mac "Couldn't access Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop server" Error

Postby rgbyhkr » Sun Mar 01, 2009 2:08 pm

Ok, I've read through various threads and haven't had any luck solving my issue. I am running 10.5.6 on my Intel MacBookPro and I get the "Couldn't access Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop server" error upon launching Zimbra Desktop. During installation, I also got the "Failed to inject zimlets" error.
I have attached my zdesktop.out (no zdesktop.log file is present or I would have attached that as well). For reference, I do have a computer name in the sharing preferences and web sharing is turned on. I may have a problem with localhost resolving 127.0.0.1 but frankly, I'm not sure how to check on that or fix it. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Jeff

zdesktop.out.zip



jjzhuang
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 1687
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:24 pm

Mac "Couldn't access Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop server" Error

Postby jjzhuang » Tue Mar 03, 2009 12:00 am

could you provide zdesktop.log instead?
rgbyhkr
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:07 am

Mac "Couldn't access Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop server" Error

Postby rgbyhkr » Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:05 pm

I was not able to get it working on my 15" MBP, but did get it working on my 17" MBP that just replaced my 15". However, I still have the same problem on my MacBook Air. zdesktop.log does not exist and the error message is the same on program startup and the injecting zimlets error on installation was also present. Here is a snippet from teh console that may be of use:
"3/9/09 5:49:17 PM [0x0-0xeb0eb].com.apple.JarLauncher[33130] Failed to load Main-Class manifest attribute from

3/9/09 5:49:17 PM [0x0-0xeb0eb].com.apple.JarLauncher[33130] Failed to load Main-Class manifest attribute from

3/9/09 5:49:17 PM [0x0-0xeb0eb].com.apple.JarLauncher[33130] /Users/Jeff/zimbra/zdesktop/jetty/common/lib/commons-beanutils-1.6.1.jar

3/9/09 5:49:35 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] *** UpdateService: canUpdate? testing /Applications/Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop.app/Contents/Resources/update.test

3/9/09 5:49:35 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] *** UpdateService: canUpdate? testing /Applications/Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop.app/Contents/Resources/updates/0/update.test

3/9/09 5:49:35 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] *** UpdateService: can update

3/9/09 5:49:35 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] *** General: Reading Status File: /Applications/Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop.app/Contents/Resources/updates/0/update.status

3/9/09 5:49:35 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] *** UpdateService: _postUpdateProcessing: No Status, No Update

3/9/09 5:49:35 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] *** UpdateManager: _loadXMLFileIntoArray: XML File does not exist

3/9/09 5:49:36 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] Testing continuous integration1** YAHOO ** loading from pref xml file

3/9/09 5:49:36 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] ** YAHOO ** Pref file empty not found

3/9/09 5:49:36 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] ** YAHOO ** Getting config from url:http://us.data.toolbar.yahoo.com/inquisitor/feed?.ver=FF_Inquisitor_1000&.intl=us&.partner=&.bver=FF_)&.osver=Intel_Mac_OS_X_10.5

3/9/09 5:49:36 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] TypeError: editSearch is null

3/9/09 5:49:36 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] ** YAHOO ** [object Object]

3/9/09 5:49:36 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] TypeError: editSearch is null

3/9/09 5:49:36 PM [0x0-0xed0ed].com.zimbra.zdesktop[33134] TypeError: editSearch is null

3/9/09 5:49:36 PM com.apple.launchd[274] (com.zimbra.zdesktop[33137]) Exited with exit code: 139

3/9/09 5:49:36 PM com.apple.launchd[274] (com.zimbra.zdesktop[33137]) Exited with exit code: 139"
Going to localhost brings me to the Apache page. However, trying http://localhost:7633/">Bugzilla Main Page gives me the "can't open the page “http://localhost:7633/” could not connect to the server “localhost”".
Jeff
rgbyhkr
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:07 am

Mac "Couldn't access Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop server" Error

Postby rgbyhkr » Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:19 am

Any suggestions given the above console output when trying to launch the desktop? Thanks.
jerryboi
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Mac "Couldn't access Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop server" Error

Postby jerryboi » Thu Mar 12, 2009 7:17 am

I don't see how your problem is different from the one addressed in this thread

and therefore I don't think starting a new thread for it was justifiable.
But anyways, what would be interesting to know is whether Zimbra Desktop is indeed making a DNS query to resolve localhost, as it was suggested in that other thread. If it is, then I will not be able to start up until my ISP adds localhost to their dns, and the chances for that are pretty slim.
Could the devs confirm if zd can be started on computers where nslookup localhost fails? (Localhost is configured in the hosts file comme il faut, but not on the DNS server.)
jmhe
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 830
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:42 pm

Mac "Couldn't access Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop server" Error

Postby jmhe » Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:25 am

can you attach log/zdesktop.log and .install4j/installation.log ?
[quote user="rgbyhkr"]Any suggestions given the above console output when trying to launch the desktop? Thanks.[/QUOTE]
rgbyhkr
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:07 am

Mac "Couldn't access Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop server" Error

Postby rgbyhkr » Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:41 am

[quote user="jmhe"]can you attach log/zdesktop.log and .install4j/installation.log ?[/QUOTE]
Neither file exists on my MacBook Air, but I have attached its zdesktop.out file (the one in my first post was from the 15" MBP that I am no longer using). As a side note, my 17" MBP is still running Zimbra Desktop perfectly on the same network at home.
Jeff

zdesktop.out.zip

jmhe
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 830
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:42 pm

Mac "Couldn't access Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop server" Error

Postby jmhe » Sun Mar 15, 2009 3:48 am

can you open a terminal and run:
  java -version

then paste the output here?


[quote user="rgbyhkr"]Neither file exists on my MacBook Air, but I have attached its zdesktop.out file (the one in my first post was from the 15" MBP that I am no longer using). As a side note, my 17" MBP is still running Zimbra Desktop perfectly on the same network at home.
Jeff[/QUOTE]
rgbyhkr
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:07 am

Mac "Couldn't access Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop server" Error

Postby rgbyhkr » Sun Mar 15, 2009 11:31 am

Output from Terminal on the MBA is as follows:
java version "1.5.0_16"

Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_16-b06-284)

Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.5.0_16-133, mixed mode)
Thanks.
Jeff
jmhe
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 830
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:42 pm

Mac "Couldn't access Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop server" Error

Postby jmhe » Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:47 am

Can you do the same on your 17'' MBP, and paste the output here?
For some reason, java keeps crashing (segmentation fault) on your MBA whenever it tries to launch ZD.
[quote user="rgbyhkr"]Output from Terminal on the MBA is as follows:
java version "1.5.0_16"

Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_16-b06-284)

Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.5.0_16-133, mixed mode)
Thanks.
Jeff[/QUOTE]

Return to “Error Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests