compaq dl360 g2 server snmpd?

Discuss your pilot or production implementation with other Zimbra admins or our engineers.
nfear24
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:23 pm

compaq dl360 g2 server snmpd?

Postby nfear24 » Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:38 am

I have a compaq dl360 g2 server thats been running zimbra for a couple years now just a home server mainly for testing. Anyways I need to install hpasm for the fan control and it requires me to install snmpd. Will this mess with zimbra install?
Thanks Nick


phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26625
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

compaq dl360 g2 server snmpd?

Postby phoenix » Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:31 am

[quote user="nfear24"]Will this mess with zimbra install?[/QUOTE]No, it won't.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

Per ardua ad astra
nfear24
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:23 pm

compaq dl360 g2 server snmpd?

Postby nfear24 » Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:52 pm

Some reason I install snmp through apt-get and hpasm installs fine but when it goes through the setup and makes changes to snmp, then I can no longer access zimbra through web interface or imap. I have to remove hpasm and snmpd again for things to work.
Thanks Nick
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26625
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

compaq dl360 g2 server snmpd?

Postby phoenix » Fri Aug 07, 2009 2:21 pm

I don't see why that would cause you not to get into the web UI, I have net-snmp running on all my server (I use it for monitoring) and that includes several Zimbra servers of varying flavours - they all run without problems. I'm not too familiar with hpasm but I can't see why that's a problem unless it starts a web server on one of the ZImbra required ports.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

Per ardua ad astra
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26625
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

compaq dl360 g2 server snmpd?

Postby phoenix » Fri Aug 07, 2009 2:32 pm

It seems that hpasm uses port 80 & 443 which will, obviously, cause conflict with Zimbra, I'm used to Dell servers and their OMSA uses a non-standard port for the interface. Is there any ability to change the ports hpasm uses?
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

Per ardua ad astra
nfear24
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:23 pm

compaq dl360 g2 server snmpd?

Postby nfear24 » Sat Aug 08, 2009 4:26 pm

Yep, I found in a slightly newer hpasm installation .deb that you can configure it not to use those.
Thanks

Return to “Administrators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests