Where should I put other things behind the proxy?

Discuss your pilot or production implementation with other Zimbra admins or our engineers.
Baylink
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:42 pm

Where should I put other things behind the proxy?

Postby Baylink » Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:13 am

I see that 8.6 now automatically installs a reverse proxy on all the public TCP ports, pointing back to all the real services on different TCP ports not expected to be visible from off-box.
.
Is there any discussion anywhere of the motivation for this in the design, and how one should proceed when installing other things on the box? Presumably this allows the provisioning of other things in the base https namespace by proper configuration of the reverse proxy; is it documented how to do that?


phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26444
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Where should I put other things behind the proxy?

Postby phoenix » Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:46 am

The 'motivation' for using the proxy is for the upcoming ZCS 9.x "always-on" version and it's not advisable to use any ZCS components for anything other than their intended use in ZCS.

Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

If you'd like to see this implemented in a future version of ZCS then please vote on Bugzilla entries 97706 & 108168
Baylink
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:42 pm

Where should I put other things behind the proxy?

Postby Baylink » Wed Nov 25, 2015 12:04 pm

<sigh>



My computer, not yours.



And oddly, email servers are always on anyway>



Ok; I'll go do it myself and screw it up and get pissed off, instead, cause that's better.



Why, oh why, oh *WHY*, can't you guys learn to live in the Real World?
Baylink
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:42 pm

Where should I put other things behind the proxy?

Postby Baylink » Wed Nov 25, 2015 12:05 pm

Oh look! My comment magically has blank lines where they're supposed to be!



I guess I can go close that bug, at least....

Return to “Administrators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 7 guests