Opening Zimbra Web via IP instead of FQDN

Discuss your pilot or production implementation with other Zimbra admins or our engineers.
mtk
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 1:00 am

Opening Zimbra Web via IP instead of FQDN

Postby mtk » Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:38 am

Hi,

when accessing the Zimbra Webinterface via https://IP instead of the servers https://FQDN nginx will return an error about not reaching the upstream server.
I assume this is a security thing, for nginx not binding to the ip... In a setup where there server is reachable through the internet this might be desireable.
However in my lab, where I often experiment with zimbra it would be helpful being able to open zimbra via IP instead of needing to add the DNS to a machines local hosts-file.
Is there any chance doing so?

Thanks for any help or insight!


phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26618
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Opening Zimbra Web via IP instead of FQDN

Postby phoenix » Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:01 am

It works fine for me using the IP address but you should always have a correctly configured hosts file and valid DNS recodrs for a ZCS install.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

Per ardua ad astra
mtk
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 1:00 am

Re: Opening Zimbra Web via IP instead of FQDN

Postby mtk » Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:18 pm

phoenix wrote:It works fine for me using the IP address but you should always have a correctly configured hosts file and valid DNS recodrs for a ZCS install.


I reinstalled one instance and can confirm it works now. Seems it was an error on my side - sorry!
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26618
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Opening Zimbra Web via IP instead of FQDN

Postby phoenix » Mon Feb 24, 2020 6:06 pm

mtk wrote:
phoenix wrote:It works fine for me using the IP address but you should always have a correctly configured hosts file and valid DNS recodrs for a ZCS install.


I reinstalled one instance and can confirm it works now. Seems it was an error on my side - sorry![/quoteThat's OK, I'm glad you've fixed it.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

Per ardua ad astra

Return to “Administrators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests