WebClient Fails to Load

Discuss your pilot or production implementation with other Zimbra admins or our engineers.
scandog
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:05 pm

WebClient Fails to Load

Postby scandog » Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:12 pm

Hi,
I have just finished setting up an email server for a company in town using Zimbra with around 30 users.
They have about 6 machines that access zimbra with the web client. Some of them work and others won't.
Some are new machines running windows xp pro, and some are a few years old running 2000 pro.
Serveral of the machines when you access the page you get the login and then the screen goes gray after loging in. It displays errors in the bottom left corner. Others don't even get the login screen.
Sometimes if I clear the cache and cookies I can get the login screen but nothing further.
I have downloaded firefox and it works perfect.
I have tried updated IE to 6 sp1 and still have the same problem. Some of the machines logined in once and then blank after that.
I desperatly need some help. Day one of the live system has been a disaster.
I know everything is reliable with firefox but that is not an option.
If anyone has any suggestions I would love to here them.
Thanks
Scandog


marcmac
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 2091
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:53 pm

WebClient Fails to Load

Postby marcmac » Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:29 pm

I think you need IE SP2 for true zimbra happiness.
scandog
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:05 pm

WebClient Fails to Load

Postby scandog » Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:56 pm

From what I have read on Microsofts site. Sp2 is only for XP not windows 2000 pro.
Is this correct?
14319KevinH
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:52 pm

WebClient Fails to Load

Postby 14319KevinH » Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:16 pm

Are you using a web proxy that doesn't support https 1.1 compression? You might try to disable compression with ?gzip=false This will make the download larger but if there is a problem with IE's gzip this would resolve it.
Also want to make sure you have the cache set to at least a 5 MB when gzip is false.
scandog
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:05 pm

WebClient Fails to Load

Postby scandog » Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:25 pm

We are going thru censornet for web filtering it is using port 8080. It is bypassed for local access, which the email server is local. So I wouldn't think it should be a problem but I will try it.
Thanks
Coilcore
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:00 pm

WebClient Fails to Load

Postby Coilcore » Thu Mar 16, 2006 3:48 pm

I'm preparing for a Zimbra deployment and I'm having the same kind of issues.
One of three users with IE6 SP2 seem to just get a blank screen (not 1 out of 3, but of our 3 test users 1 is failing) . The wierdest thing is that the same machine that is failing with IE6 SP2, there is no problem connecting with Firefox so it seems to be very clearly a bug with IE.
I looked at specific version numbers

- the two working builds of IE are 6.0.2900.2180.xpsp.050301-1521

- the none functional version is 6.0.2900.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519
None of the machines need updates per 'Window Update'
We've tried the gzip=false parameter but that seems to have no effect.
We tried reducing the security and privacy options to none, but that also seems to have had no effect.
14319KevinH
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:52 pm

WebClient Fails to Load

Postby 14319KevinH » Thu Mar 16, 2006 4:40 pm

Make sure you clear the cache and restart the browser to make sure you are getting a clean test. A bad IE cache will give very odd results and make it almost impossible to debug.
What are your cache settings? Automatic and at least 100 MB in size seem to work well for us.
Also check these values
In IE- Tools->Internet Options->Advanced:

Under HTTP 1.1 Settings, checked (enabled) both the options-

* Use HTTP 1.1

* Use HTTP 1.1 through proxy connections
Coilcore
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:00 pm

WebClient Fails to Load

Postby Coilcore » Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:00 pm

For whatever reason the failing machine had 'SSL2.0' as the only option for certificates, checking the 'SSL3.0' option in Tools->Internet Options->Advanced has corrected the problem for us.
As far as we are aware of the user did not explicitly select or deselect any options here, even though punching the 'Restore Defaults' button checks this box. Its posible that it is either a forgetful user or some small bug where the initial value is not the same as the default? I'd be interested to hear if this fixes anyone elses issue.
earthling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:00 pm

WebClient Fails to Load

Postby earthling » Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm

I'm having the same issues with IE 6.0.2800.1106, SP1 on Win2K against zcs-NETWORK-3.0.1_GA_160.RHEL4 -
The errors showing up in the browser:
Line: 642

Char: 23

Error: Unterminated string constant

Code: 0
Line: 114

Char: 2

Error: 'AjxDebug' is undefined

Code: 0
Line: 147

Char: 270

Error: Expected identifier

Code: 0
6149Richard
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:02 pm

WebClient Fails to Load

Postby 6149Richard » Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:29 pm

[quote user="14319KevinH"]

What are your cache settings? Automatic and at least 100 MB in size seem to work well for us.

[/QUOTE]
Is this a recommendation for Firefox 1.5 also? Thanks.

Return to “Administrators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 19 guests