Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Upgrading Connector Loses contact history.

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    132
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Upgrading Connector Loses contact history.

    A big complaint I am getting with my outlook users is that whenever we upgrade the connector (sometimes once a month) they lose all their contact history, emailed contacts etc and this has them up in arms.

    Is there a way to avoid this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    126
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Can you describe that a bit more.

    That may be the case that installer creates new profile and makes it default.
    You can always switch to use your old profile.
    Regards
    Henry

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    132
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Well shouldn't the connector be "upgrading" rather then killing the old installation and messing with the profile?

    To be clear, whenever we upgrade a connector ie run the installer over an existing installation it wipes out that users emailed contact info ie they have to manually enter in addresses again before it will autocomplete for them.

    The upgrade process remembers the users login info etc so I don't see why it messes with the contacts as well.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    126
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    That is a bug i'm currently working on. It is planned for 5.0.3 version.

    Bug 24000 - Installer incorrectly changes default profile
    (Installer incorrectly changes default profile)

    So maybe that is cause.
    After it is fixed it won't change the default profile nor create a new one if
    that is upgrade scenario.
    Regards
    Henry

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    132
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Thank you for that update and the RFE.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    29
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    BTW, the magic file you're looking for with autocomplete addresses in outlook is c:\Documents and Settings\USERNAME\Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook\PROFILENAME.nk2. Just copy that file elsewhere if it's being clobbered or rename it if the profile names are changing. We did this during migration so users kept their autocompletes.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-11-2007, 01:40 PM
  2. Outlook Migration Wizard + Contact Groups
    By thegeekiator in forum Migration
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-13-2007, 04:00 PM
  3. Upgrading 3.1.1 -> 4.0.4 OSX Multi-Server
    By Britt in forum Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2006, 10:17 AM
  4. Error when upgrading from 3.1 -> 3.1.1
    By jeg1972 in forum Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2006, 07:10 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-26-2006, 11:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •